And So It Begins…

St. James' Park

Only one year after finishing grad school and landing an engaging job with a well-known non-profit, I left this all behind to move to London. I didn’t even have a job lined up by the time I left, but I went anyway.

I have always been the one in my family that people knew would do things differently.  I am not sure I always liked this categorization, but it is one my mother and others kept making and it is the one that is turning out to be true. I went to college out-of-state, I completed my Masters, I traveled abroad and now, I’m an expatriate. That word still doesn’t ring true, I still feel like I’m on a long vacation; a sabbatical from real life.

So here it is, on July 15th I landed in London with my fiance, J, and we began our new life here together. The opportunity to come came through his job at a business consulting firm, but really we came because of my own adventurous spirit and his desire to deepen his.

I have always wanted to live abroad, especially in Europe.  It was one of those dreams that you always had such a conviction about making it happen, but in the back of your mind you never thought would come true. All of a sudden, I had to make a decision about 6 months into my new great job to actually fulfill that dream.  It was scary, exciting and overwhelming, but I jumped because somehow it felt like the only choice to make.

I’m glad I did. So far life here is a cross between living my dream and, well, utter normalcy. I haven’t wrapped my head around everything yet.

Now I begin this blog, to orient you to my new life, send dispatches back home and cultivate a space so I can properly reflect on what all this means for that little girl who dreamed of living abroad.

4 thoughts on “And So It Begins…

  1. Jeffrey

    Well done, my good and faithful daughter. Keep posting and I’ll keep reading. I feel like I’m there with you.

  2. Pingback: Being Tourists (aka our first weekend in London) « The Places in Between

Comments are closed.